Infertile yet pro-choice

Standard

The news coverage on this Planned Parenthood thing has been fascinating.  For one that so many people believe that baby parts are truly being sold (fallacy) and two people think that by defunding Planned Parenthood it’s going to solve the abortion ‘problem’.  When in reality…..the government does not pay for abortions.  Lets get that out there immediately.  Tax dollars do NOT pay for abortion.  I don’t really understand why abortion is such a hot-button debate issue.  A woman either has a baby or doesn’t, I’m not really sure why folks that are pro-life feel the need to get involved with the pregnancy in the first place.  My husband and I have been trying to conceive for over 5 years. It hasn’t happened, and it wont. But I will still try until the magical age of 35, then evaluate my choice from there.  But if we did get pregnant and there was something wrong with the fetus,  I would terminate for medical reasons or TFMR for short.  In a perfect world there would be no need for abortions.  People who want kids…have them, people who don’t want kids…don’t have them.  But life happens.  Birth control fails, rape happens, pregnancy complications happen.  To take away a woman’s right to be alive is abhorrent to me.  Women are more than incubators.  If a pregnancy is threatening a woman’s life…..that pregnancy should not continue.  There is no virtue in dying for your potential unborn baby.  My husband and I already talked about this.  If we do get pregnant and my life is in danger it’s not even a choice, the pregnancy will end.  The baby doesn’t get a choice, because it is inside of my body and has no rights…..like should always be the case.  A fetus or baby in utero should never be MORE important than the woman that is already alive, breathing and established personhood.  I was pregnant with an ectopic pregnancy.  The pregnancy had no hope of being viable but I was still pregnant and I had a tiny baby that had a heartbeat (I was almost 8 weeks along).  I HAD to end it’s life since it was going to end mine if it had continued.  In the future if they make all abortion illegal even in cases where it saves the life of the mother….then I just committed a murder.  Pro-lifers just need to get on board with choice.  It’s not about the baby.  Once that embryo attaches to the uterus and the heart starts beating at 5 weeks then that IS going to be a baby.  There should be no debate on science.  But to take away a woman’s choice over a 5 week old embryo?  That’s ridiculous.  It’s not about responsibility either….who cares if someone is responsible?  What business do people have in deciding what responsibility is? I think if you don’t want a baby and know you wont give it a good life….it’s responsible to abort it.  I think if a baby in utero is developing badly (insert horrible birth defect here) then it’s responsible and an act of mercy to abort such a situation.  It’s not up to anyone else to place judgement or blame on another person regarding pregnancy.  ‘If only she used protection’ ‘If only she didn’t spread her legs’ ‘If only she gave it up for adoption’ ‘if only she *insert other blame here*’  It’s always ‘if only’ followed by ‘she’.  The crux of the matter of abortion is choice, not whether or not it’s a baby.  To take away someone else’s human right to have a choice (alive and breathing) then that’s not being human in my opinion.

About katsrkewl

I am a 34 year old married woman. I happen to have Asperger's. I love the color orange, I love handbags and I love cats! I have a lot of goals in my life and I feel like I have been at a stasis recently and I am trying to get where I am meant to be; Whatever, and wherever that may lead. My husband and I are also struggling with infertility and those kind of issues.

Leave a Reply

